Web page banner


– Members of the Irish Government during the Emegency period. – 

The following is a list of those ministers and other members of the Irish government which figure highly during the period of the Second World War.

TaoiseachMr Eamon DeValera
TanaisteMr. Sean T. O'Kelly
Min. for Foreign AffairsMr Eamon DeValera
Secretary of the Dept. of Foreign AffairsJoe Walshe
Assistant Secretary of the Dept. of Foreign AffairsMr. Frederick H. Boland
Min. for Co-ordination of Defense MeasuresMr. Frank Aiken
Min. for DefenceMr. Oscar Traynor
Min. for Industry and CommerceMr. Sean MacEnntee
High Commissioner in LondonMr. John Dulanty
Min. for SuppliesMr. Sean Lemass
Min. for AgricultureMr. James Ryan
Min. for JusticeMr. Gerald Boland
Min. for EducationMr. Thomas Derrig
Irish First Secretary in BerlinMr. William Warnack
Min. in MadridMr. Leopold Kerney


This is the official term for Ireland's Prime Minister. It was introduced in the new 1937 Constitution. The term replaced the former "President of the Executive Council". It is an old Irish word literally meaning Chief or Leader.


The deputy Prime Minister.